Oliver's favorites (for younger readers)

This is Oliver. He is Mary's grandson, and he loves to read (good genes.) These are some of the books he's really enjoying right now. They're mostly for 2 - 5 year olds, although if you get to read these with your small people, we think you'll get to love them, too.

How to Be a Pirate By Isaac Fitzgerald, Brigette Barrager (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781681197784
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - March 3rd, 2020

A National Bestseller!

"A beautiful, generous, fun collaboration of story and illustration and pirate tattoos. Seriously wise pirate advice for everyone." - Jon Scieszka, National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature


Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site By Sherri Duskey Rinker, Tom Lichtenheld (Illustrator) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781452111735
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Chronicle Books - February 14th, 2017

The #1 New York Times bestselling children's book now available as a board book!

As the sun sets behind the big construction site, all the hardworking trucks get ready to say goodnight.

One by one, Crane Truck, Cement Mixer, Dump Truck, Bulldozer, and Excavator finish their work and lie down to rest—so they'll be ready for another day o


From the New York Times bestselling author who brought you Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and Mighty, Mighty Construction Site comes a heartwarming and inspiring tale featuring the first female character to join the core construction crew!


The Brain Storm By Linda Ragsdale, Claudio Molina (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Linda Ragsdale, Claudio Molina (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781486717873
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flowerpot Press - September 10th, 2019

"A sturdy addition to the bad-mood shelf." -Kirkus

This wordless picture book is a thought-provoking exploration of disruptive feelings. Readers may interpret these as anger, anxiety, or even a creative brain storm.


The Peace Dragon By Linda Ragsdale, Marco Furlotti (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Linda Ragsdale, Marco Furlotti (Illustrator)
$7.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781486717736
Published: Flowerpot Press - November 5th, 2019

Have You Filled a Bucket Today?: A Guide to Daily Happiness for Kids By Carol McCloud, David Messing (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Carol McCloud, David Messing (Illustrator)
$9.95
ISBN: 9780996099936
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bucket Fillers - October 1st, 2015

"It's an important lesson to teach and remind us all . . . that showing kindness and appreciation of others goes a long way to making this world a happier place for everyone, including ourselves.


Bear Out There By Jacob Grant Cover Image
$17.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781681197456
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - June 4th, 2019

Bear and Spider are back in another charming odd-couple friendship story, perfect for fans of Peter Brown and Greg Pizzoli.

Bear's favorite place is inside. He loves sharing his tidy home with his friend Spider. Spider loves the outdoors!

When Spider's kite flies away, Bear must venture out and into the messy forest to help his friend.


Little Bird's Bad Word: A Picture Book By Jacob Grant Cover Image
$19.54
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781250051493
Published: Feiwel & Friends - July 21st, 2015

Little Bird learned a new word! He loves it so much that he's bursting to share it with all of his friends.

BLARK! BLARK! BLARK!

The only problem is, this isn't a very nice word. Little Bird doesn't realize it, but this word might even hurt someone's feelings. With the help of Papa Bird, maybe Little Bird will learn another new word--one that will make things all better.


What We'll Build: Plans For Our Together Future By Oliver Jeffers Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780593206751
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Philomel Books - October 6th, 2020

An instant New York Times bestseller!

From Oliver Jeffers, world-renowned picture book creator and illustrator of The Crayons' Christmas, comes a gorgeously told father-daughter story and companion to the #1 New York Times bestseller Here We Are!

What shall we build, you and I?
Let's gather all our tools for a start.


The Bad Seed (The Food Group) By Jory John, Pete Oswald (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jory John, Pete Oswald (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062467768
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - August 29th, 2017

A New York Times bestseller!

This is a book about a bad seed. A baaaaaaaaaad seed. How bad? Do you really want to know?


The Good Egg: An Easter And Springtime Book For Kids (The Food Group) By Jory John, Pete Oswald (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jory John, Pete Oswald (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062866004
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - February 12th, 2019

A #1 New York Times bestseller!

An Amazon Best Books of the Year 2019 selection!

From the bestselling creators of The Bad Seed, a timely story about not having to be Grade A perfect!

Meet the good egg. He’s a verrrrrry good egg indeed.


The Cool Bean (The Food Group) By Jory John, Pete Oswald (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jory John, Pete Oswald (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062954527
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - December 3rd, 2019

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

The “too-cool-for-school” third picture book from the #1 New York Times bestselling creators of The Bad Seed and The Good Egg, Jory John and Pete Oswald

Everyone knows the cool beans. They’re sooooo cool.


When Dads Don't Grow Up By Marjorie Blain Parker, R.W. Alley (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Marjorie Blain Parker, R.W. Alley (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780803737174
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - March 15th, 2012

An endearing celebration of dads who are young at heart


Mother Bruce-Mother Bruce, Book 1 (Mother Bruce Series #1) By Ryan T. Higgins Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781484730881
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Disney Hyperion - November 24th, 2015

Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type (A Click Clack Book) By Doreen Cronin, Betsy Lewin (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Doreen Cronin, Betsy Lewin (Illustrator)
$8.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781442408890
Published: Little Simon - August 31st, 2010

The quirky, hilarious farmyard tale that started it all from New York Times bestselling duo of Doreen Cronin and Betsy Lewin! Now the inspiration for a new Christmas special, CLICK, CLACK, MOO: Christmas on the Farm.

Farmer Brown has a problem. His cows like to type.


Rosie Revere, Engineer: A Picture Book (The Questioneers) By Andrea Beaty, David Roberts (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Andrea Beaty, David Roberts (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781419708459
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - September 3rd, 2013

In this beloved New York Times bestselling picture book, meet Rosie Revere, a seemingly quiet girl by day but a brilliant inventor of gizmos and gadgets by night.

Rosie dreams of becoming a great engineer, and her room becomes a secret workshop where she constructs ingenious inventions from odds and ends.


Awesome Is Everywhere By Neil Pasricha Cover Image
$17.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780670069330
Published: Puffin Canada - September 29th, 2015

A stunning first picture book from the New York Times bestselling author of The Book of Awesome.


Press Here: Board Book Edition (Herve Tullet) By Herve Tullet Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781452178592
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Chronicle Books - February 19th, 2019

The longest-running picture book on the New York Times bestseller list, now in a bestselling board book!

"Tullet's brilliant creation proves that books need not lose out to electronic wizardry; his colorful dots perform every bit as engagingly as any on the screen of an iPad....


Potato Pants! By Laurie Keller, Laurie Keller (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Laurie Keller, Laurie Keller (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250107237
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - October 2nd, 2018

A potato and his eggplant nemesis struggle to find the perfect pants in this hilarious, heartwarming tale of forgiveness by bestselling Geisel-Award winning creator Laurie Keller.

Potato is excited because today—for one day only— Lance Vance’s Fancy Pants Store is selling . . .POTATO PANTS!