Must Read TV!

The following titles have all been featured in Skylark's online author series, Must Read TV. All interviews have been archived on our YouTube channel and you can watch them whenever you like. For more information on forthercoming events, go here.

The Exiles: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062356345
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Custom House - August 25th, 2020

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

OPTIONED FOR TELEVISION BY BRUNA PAPANDREA, THE PRODUCER OF HBO'S BIG LITTLE LIES


With or Without You: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781616207793
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Books - August 4th, 2020

“Leavitt has crafted an irresistible portrait of midlife ennui and the magic of breaking free.”
People


With or Without You is a moving novel about twists of fate, the shifting terrain of love, and coming into your own.


Staff Pick Badge
A Star Is Bored: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250266491
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - July 28th, 2020

"A Star is Bored is an absolute knockout. Riotously funny and wickedly tender."
— Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of Daisy Jones and the Six

"Wildly funny and irreverent... Lane’s writing lifts the novel far above its gossamer Hollywood setting, suffusing [the novel] with a complex sensitivity."


Being Lolita: A Memoir Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250217219
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - August 4th, 2020

A dark romance evolves between a high schooler and her English teacher in this breathtakingly powerful memoir about a young woman who must learn to rewrite her own story.

“Have you ever read Lolita?”


Is Rape a Crime?: A Memoir, an Investigation, and a Manifesto Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250255631
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - July 28th, 2020

Longlisted for the 2020 National Book Award for Nonfiction
TIME's 100 Must-Read Books of 2020
Publishers Weekly, Best Books of 2020
New York Times
New & Noteworthy Audiobooks
Lit Hubs Most Anticipated Books of 2020
Starred Review Publishers Weekly
Starred Review Shelf Awareness


Haunting Paris: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780525565383
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor - May 19th, 2020

Paris, 1989:  Alone in her luminous apartment on Île Saint-Louis, Sylvie discovers a mysterious letter among her late lover Julien’s possessions, launching her into a decades-old search for a child who vanished in the turbulence of the Second World War.


Staff Pick Badge
The Jane Austen Society: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250248732
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - May 26th, 2020

* INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER *

"This novel delivers sweet, smart escapism."
People


The Queen of Tuesday: A Lucille Ball Story Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780812992762
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House - August 18th, 2020

“A gorgeous, Technicolor take on America in the middle of the twentieth century.”—Colson Whitehead, Pulitzer Prize–winning author of The Nickel Boys


Like Love (Machete) Cover Image
$21.95
ISBN: 9780814255988
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mad Creek Books - September 25th, 2020

Crushes. Infatuations. Attractions. Unexpected, inexplicable allure. Entanglements steeped in taboo and disruption. In Like Love, nothing is off limits.
 
In these remarkable essays, Michele Morano explores the pleasures, possibilities, strangeness, and lessons of unconsummated romance.


This Way Back (In Place) Cover Image
$23.99
ISBN: 9781949199666
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: West Virginia University Press - October 1st, 2020

“Winning and contemplative.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) 

Going back to her ancestral homeland, a Greek American girl discovers she is a lesbian in love with God, so her questions about home and belonging will not be easily answered.

This Way Back dramatizes a childhood split between Queens, New York, and Cyprus, an island na


Staff Pick Badge
Luster: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374194321
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - August 4th, 2020

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF 2020
A BEST BOOK OF 2020: O Magazine, Kirkus, Time, Good Housekeeping, New Statesman, Chatelaine
A BEST BOOK FOR HOLIDAY GIFTS: AV Club, Chicago Tribune, New York Magazine/The Strategist

WINNER OF THE KIRKUS PRIZE


Northernmost: A novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780525655756
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf - August 18th, 2020

From the acclaimed author of Wintering: a thrilling ode to the spirit of adventure and the vagaries of loss and love


Staff Pick Badge
He Started It Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780451491756
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - July 21st, 2020

AN INSTANT INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

“Wholly original. Scarily clever. Completely mesmerizing. You will never look at family road trips the same way again.”—Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author


Stranger Danger: Family Values, Childhood, and the American Carceral State Cover Image
$34.95
ISBN: 9780190913984
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Oxford University Press, USA - June 1st, 2020

Beginning with Etan Patz's disappearance in Manhattan in 1979, a spate of high-profile cases of missing and murdered children stoked anxieties about the threats of child kidnapping and exploitation. Publicized through an emerging twenty-four-hour news cycle, these cases supplied evidence of what some commentators dubbed "a national epidemic" of child abductions committed by "strangers."


The Monsters We Make: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781643853888
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crooked Lane Books - August 11th, 2020

For fans of Rene Denfeld and Shari Lapena comes a rich, atmospheric family drama set in the 1980's following the disappearances of two paperboys from a small midwestern town.

It's August 1984, and paperboy Christopher Stewart has gone missing.