Mary's Book List

 

About Mary: Mary OMalley is a Ridiculously Enthusiastic Bookseller. An avid reader all her life, she rediscovered her passion for all things literary as a Bookseller for Anderson's Bookshop at their LaGrange location. She has been known to mildly stalk her favorite authors through social media, and reads across a large range of genres. When not reading, she and her husband are tending to their little suburban homestead with two cats, two dogs, two fish, and soon-to-arrive four chickens. She and her husband live outside Chicago and have three children and one adorable grandson. You can find Mary on FB, Insta and Twitter at Blurb Your Enthusiasm. You won’t meet Mary in the shop, as she lives in a different state (details) but you’ll be seeing and hearing a lot from her on our social media pages and we are proud to welcome her to the Skylark team as our Roving Virtual Bookseller At Large.

 

Staff Pick Badge
Be Frank With Me: A Novel Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780062413727
Availability: Backordered
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - September 6th, 2016

A reclusive author is forced to write a second book and her editor sends his assistant to help. But instead of helping with the writing, the assistant is forced to watch the child no one knew existed. A witty, charming, and beautifully written novel that readers are sure to love.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Better Luck Next Time: A Novel Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780062916365
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Custom House - January 5th, 2021

A 1930's Divorce Farm in Reno. Sharp and witty dialog and a unique story combine to make this book a must-read.


Staff Pick Badge
Love and Ruin: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781101967393
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - January 15th, 2019

Did you know that Hemingway's third wife was the only woman on the beach of Normandy on DDay? The author of The Paris Wife shines a light on another of Hemingway's wives and her accomplishments outside of Hemingway's shadow.

 


Staff Pick Badge
The Only Woman in the Room Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781492666899
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - August 6th, 2019

Marie Benedict shines a spotlight on women that have been cast into the shadows of history. This time she tells the story of the silver screen star who developed and patented the technology that became the cell phone, but got no credit for her invention. Hedy Lamar was much more than the movies.


Staff Pick Badge
Park Avenue Summer Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101991145
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - April 30th, 2019

Cosmo Magazine was not always the Cosmo most of us know. When it was a struggling magazine for housewives, Helen Gurly Brown who had no experience whatsoever, took it over and shook things up. Although half the staff walked out, Helen had a vision for publishing a magazine that women really wanted to read, and she created the Cosmo that we all know and love today.


Staff Pick Badge
The Second Home: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250239341
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - June 2nd, 2020

Family, friendship, secrets and lies - The Second Home is the perfect book for lovers of great fiction. There is a lot to unpack in this novel, making it an awesome book club choice and the author will Zoom with your book club!


Staff Pick Badge
He Started It Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780451491756
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - July 21st, 2020

Thriller lovers will go nuts for the whiplash-worthy thriller from the author of My Lovely Wife. Samantha Downing is the queen of the never-saw-it-coming ending.


Staff Pick Badge
The Red Notebook Cover Image
By Antoine Laurain, Jane Aitken (Translator), Emily Boyce (Translator)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781908313867
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallic Books - April 7th, 2015

This french author packs an enormous amount of story into just a few pages. When a man finds a woman's pocketbook in the trash bin, he sets off to track down the owner.


Staff Pick Badge
The Girl He Used to Know: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250298874
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - January 7th, 2020

An autistic woman and her college boyfriend reconnect years later. This charming and touching novel is a hug for your heart.


Staff Pick Badge
A Star Is Bored: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250266491
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - July 28th, 2020

Inspired by the author's time working as Carrie Fisher's assistant, A Star is Bored is laugh out loud funny and unexpectedly touching and you will be thinking of the characters long after you've finished the book.


Staff Pick Badge
The Editor Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525537984
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - June 30th, 2020

A writer has finally sold his book and is asked to come in to meet his editor. When the door to the conference room opens and Jackie O enters the room, his life will never be the same.


The Marsh King's Daughter Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780735213012
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - April 17th, 2018

Set in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, a woman is trying to forget her brutal upbringing by a sadistic man who kidnapped her mother. When he escapes from prison, she is the only one who can track him. This heart pounding and sometimes graphic thriller is not for the faint of heart.


Staff Pick Badge
All Adults Here: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781594634697
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - May 4th, 2020

Emma Straub is a master of the parent-adult child relationship. This hilarious and perfectly accurate portrayal of the parent-child and sibling relationships is pure magic.

 


Staff Pick Badge
Nanaville: Adventures in Grandparenting Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780812985917
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - November 10th, 2020

A memoir/love letter to being a grandmother, Nanaville is the absolute perfect book for anyone who is or is about to become a grandmother.

 


Darling Rose Gold Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593100066
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - March 17th, 2020

This cringing and creepy thriller is what it would be like if Psycho and Mommy Dearest had a book baby.


Staff Pick Badge
The Jane Austen Society: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250248732
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - May 26th, 2020

Fans of Jane Austen or those who just want to live in a simpler world for a while will love this sweet and charming novel. 


Staff Pick Badge
Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593098400
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - February 4th, 2020

Helicopter parents gone wild mix with school-aged drama and some teacher gossip to give a hilarious, over-the-top look at school misbehavior.


Staff Pick Badge
Rising Out of Hatred: The Awakening of a Former White Nationalist Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780525434955
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor - September 3rd, 2019

The heir apparent to the White Nationalist throne went to a liberal college and ended up changing his views. This true story of David Duke's godson and his journey from racist to anti-racist is a must read.


Staff Pick Badge
Such a Fun Age Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525541905
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - December 31st, 2019

A Black nanny is out at the local upscale grocery store with the white child she watches. Another shopper views them as suspicious and reports them to security. Author Kiley Reid has masterfully tied her characters, story, and social messaging into a riveting novel.


Staff Pick Badge
The Sun Down Motel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780440000204
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - October 20th, 2020

A good, old-fashioned ghost story! The Sun Down Motel is perfect for fans of Stephen King!


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Prophets Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593085684
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - January 5th, 2021

This epic story of two slaves who have a forbidden love is a masterpiece of literature. Everyone is going to be talking about this book in 2021.


Staff Pick Badge
World of Wonders: In Praise of Fireflies, Whale Sharks, and Other Astonishments Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781571313652
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Milkweed Editions - September 8th, 2020

This gem of a book is a gorgeous meditation on nature, relationships, and what it's like to grow up looking different from others. This is a perfect gift book for the nature lover.


Staff Pick Badge
The Moth Presents All These Wonders: True Stories About Facing the Unknown Cover Image
By Catherine Burns (Editor), Neil Gaiman (Foreword by)
$25.00
ISBN: 9781101904404
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown Archetype - March 21st, 2017

This collection of true stories from The Moth podcasts and live shows is inspiring and uplifting. The perfect gift book for any reader of any age.