Beth's Book List

Beth Hemke Shapiro hails from Chicago but is close to considering herself a native of Columbia after having lived here for more than two decades. With degrees in philosophy, law, and library science, Beth has enjoyed careers ranging from arts administrator to tax consultant to high school librarian. In her spare time Beth likes to travel, attend arts events, hang with her family, and read.  Her favorite genres include literary fiction, speculative fiction, and current events. 

Lucky Red: A Novel By Claudia Cravens Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593498248
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: The Dial Press - June 20th, 2023

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • A thrilling, raucous, and gloriously queer debut about a scrappy orphan bent on making her own luck in the American West—and finding friendship, romance, and her true calling along the way, now in paperback.

“A powerful feminist battle cry . . . [and] rollicking good fun.”—Minneapolis Star Tribune


The Militia House: A Novel By John Milas Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250857064
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - July 11th, 2023

Longlisted for the Center for Fiction's First Novel Prize

“An extraordinary novel about the quiet and not so quiet horrors of war.” —Roxane Gay


Stephen King meets Tim O’Brien in John Milas’s The Militia House, a spine-tingling and boldly original gothic horror novel.


The Country of the Blind: A Memoir at the End of Sight By Andrew Leland Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781984881427
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - July 18th, 2023

I


Mrs. Plansky's Revenge By Spencer Quinn Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250843333
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Forge Books - July 25th, 2023

Mrs. Plansky's Revenge is bestselling author Spencer Quinn's first novel in a new series since the meteoric launch of Chet and Bernie--introducing the irresistible and unforgettable Mrs. Plansky, in a story perfect for book clubs and commercial fiction readers.


The End of Drum-Time: A Novel By Hanna Pylväinen Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250822901
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - January 24th, 2023

FINALIST FOR THE 2023 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD

An epic love story in the vein of Cold Mountain and The Great Circle, about a young reindeer herder and a minister’s daughter in the nineteenth century Arctic Circle


Against Technoableism: Rethinking Who Needs Improvement (A Norton Short) By Ashley Shew Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9781324036661
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 19th, 2023

One of BookRiot's Ten Best Disability Books of 2023

A manifesto exploding what we think we know about disability, and arguing that disabled people are the real experts when it comes to technology and disability.