Beth's Book List

Beth Hemke Shapiro hails from Chicago but is close to considering herself a native of Columbia after having lived here for more than two decades. With degrees in philosophy, law, and library science, Beth has enjoyed careers ranging from arts administrator to tax consultant to high school librarian. In her spare time Beth likes to travel, attend arts events, hang with her family, and read.  Her favorite genres include literary fiction, speculative fiction, and current events. 

Staff Pick Badge
Annie and the Wolves Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781641291699
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Soho Press - February 2nd, 2021

This book’s primary appeal stems from its inability to be pegged into a single genre. Part historical fiction (Annie Oakley), part science fiction (time travel), and part literary fiction (a struggling modern-day historian), Annie and the Wolves tackles abuse, secrets, and revenge.  A fascinating story that leaves readers wondering how much our actions can influence the future.


Staff Pick Badge
Meet Me in Another Life: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780063020207
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow - April 27th, 2021

Santi and Thora relentlessly encounter each other in different lives and in different roles: as police partners, as lovers, as siblings. As they piece together more details about their previous lives, they—along with us—question fate, free-will, and purpose. An engrossing, thought-provoking debut novel that suggests vast possibilities and that climaxes to an amazing ending. Wide appeal for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life and David Levithan’s Every Day, with the addition of diverse central characters.


Staff Pick Badge
The Removed: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062997548
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - February 2nd, 2021

In THE REMOVED the line between the Cherokee spirit world and the earthly world exists fluidly. The loose delineation allows for an intense look at the effects of trauma on a people, a family, and individuals. Upon finishing, I wanted to do a 180 and reread to pick up additional details of the intertwined stories.


Staff Pick Badge
The Whispering House Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781951142360
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tin House Books - March 16th, 2021

Recovering from her sister’s suicide, Freya falls under the spell of Byrne Hall—a mysterious, crumbling British seaside mansion—which houses the magnetic artist Cory and his bed-ridden mother. While Freya loses touch with day-to-day reality, she also uncovers secrets about her sister. THE WHISPERING HOUSE by Elizabeth Brooks is a hugely atmospheric gothic novel, perfect for readers who relish the psychological creepiness of Daphne Du Maurier’s well-known classic Rebecca.


Staff Pick Badge
Gideon the Ninth (The Locked Tomb Series #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250313188
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tordotcom - July 14th, 2020

Such a fabulously twisted mashup of sci fi, fantasy, horror, and mystery!  The first installment of The Locked Tomb Trilogy, this book--with its irreverent protagonist and its political necromancers--is unlike anything I've ever read.


Staff Pick Badge
Ninth House (Alex Stern) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250751362
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - October 20th, 2020

The plot of magic, mystery, and murder unfolds with displays of classism and elitism, as Galaxy "Alex" Stern--former high school dropout, addict, and newest "Dante" of Lethe House--monitors and confronts the magical activity at Yale's eight powerful secret societies.


Staff Pick Badge
Vesper Flights Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780802128812
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grove Press - August 25th, 2020

The author of H is for Hawk returns with a glorious collection of essays about the natural world.  A book that easily can be read straight-through, or, if desired, by chosen topic, be it goats, hares, or mushrooms.


Staff Pick Badge
Piranesi Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635575637
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - September 15th, 2020

Clarke imagines a bizarre, other-wordly labyrinth, with unique classical statues contained in endless rooms that frequently flood with ocean tides.  I found the book weirdly immersive, and it creeps along with its own peculiar suspense.


Staff Pick Badge
Beloved Beasts: Fighting for Life in an Age of Extinction Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781324001683
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - March 9th, 2021

A remarkably thorough history of the conservation movement.  A valuable and necessary addition to US history, especially as climate change brings the probability of further extinctions.


Staff Pick Badge
Reality and Other Stories Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780393540918
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - March 9th, 2021

Perfect for reading on a dark and creepy afternoon, Lanchester's stories crescendo to epitomize the horror of the digital age.